Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Whale Talk

by Chris Crutcher

eBook

"A truly exceptional book."—Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."—Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith, Sherman Alexie, and Matt de la Peña.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"—Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults
New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age


Expand title description text
Publisher: HarperCollins

Kindle Book

  • Release date: September 22, 2009

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780061968532
  • Release date: September 22, 2009

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780061968532
  • File size: 561 KB
  • Release date: September 22, 2009


Loading
Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:6.1
Lexile® Measure:1000
Interest Level:9-12(UG)
Text Difficulty:5-7

"A truly exceptional book."—Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."—Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith, Sherman Alexie, and Matt de la Peña.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"—Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults
New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age


Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    HarperCollins

    Kindle Book
    Release date: September 22, 2009

    OverDrive Read
    ISBN: 9780061968532
    Release date: September 22, 2009

    EPUB eBook
    ISBN: 9780061968532
    File size: 561 KB
    Release date: September 22, 2009

  • Creators
  • Formats
    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB eBook
  • Languages
    English
  • Levels
    ATOS Level: 6.1
    Lexile® Measure: 1000
    Interest Level: 9-12(UG)
    Text Difficulty: 5-7
  • Reviews

    Loading